Banishing the Winter Blues

We’re nearing the end of January, and I can feel my winter blues setting in. After months of being cooped up inside, I feel like I’m not quite myself. I have less energy than usual and I find myself becoming irritated at small things that usually don’t bother me. I’m a very outdoorsy person and being inside for this many days straight is, unfortunately, taking its toll on my mood.

Today it finally snowed, which was actually a much needed reprieve from the constant drizzly rain we’ve been experiencing here. I was able to take my dog outside and watch as she explored the snowdrifts. I decided I needed to shake things up a little and breathe some fresh air into my routine. Are the winter blues getting you down? Below are my ideas for refreshing a tired winter routine.

snow
My backyard this morning. It might be the most beautiful snow I’ve ever seen!

Find a New Class/Hobby
I recently discovered that a gym near me teaches boxing classes every week. I’ve decided to sign up for some beginner’s classes! I’m looking forward to meeting new people and trying a new fitness routine. I also am very interested in learning Photoshop and I’m looking for a class on that, too.

Increase Your Workout Regimen
Although it may be tempting to skip the gym when you’re feeling lousy and tired, that’s exactly the opposite of what you should do. I’ve increased my workout length a bit to allow more time for cardio. Once I’m there at the gym, I immediately feel better. Exercise has an amazing way of lifting your spirits, and winter is a great time to sign up for a gym membership. And, as the saying goes, “Beach bodies are made in the winter!”

Plan a Trip
Having a trip to look forward to always makes me feel better. I love traveling and exploring new places. I started to plan my getaways for this year, and putting ideas down on paper is a great mood-booster. It may be also helpful to schedule a getaway during the winter as well.

Learn to Love the Snow
This one is pretty closely related to the last point. Ever since I discovered skiing about four years ago, it’s really helped me appreciate and enjoy the winter. My husband and I try to ski a few times each year. Planning a ski or snow tubing trip is a great way to love the outdoors when it gets cold.

Start an Organizing Project
I enjoy organizing, and I’m probably just weird, but I have been itching to organize my pantry for a few weeks now! Is there a home organization project you could get lost in? I find the winter is a great time to organize and clean up the inside of your home. When it’s nice out, you probably won’t want to spend your time indoors!

Do you have any ideas for banishing the winter blues? I’d love to hear them!

Get Involved, Leave a Reply

